NNGB, Dear Thumper

One of the sweetest and most supportive people I have ever known passed away today. I met Sharon Hames (aka Thumper) through our mutual adoration of handsome Celtic songsters.

photo 3_2We met online at first, in the “Thunderpub” chat room and then, one weekend, she drove out from her home in Lucerne Valley to see me sing at church and we had coffee afterwards.

ThumperA month later, we went with 5 other local Thunderheads to man the phones at KVCR when three of those Celtic Thunder guys were appearing on the pledge breaks. So many memories are held in that one night – and so many friendships.

Sharon almost became like an aunt to me. She was always emailing, asking how things were with job searches, asking about school, wanting to know when I’d be singing anywhere so she could come see me. She was always cheering me on. From the first year I knew her, I always had a birthday card and Christmas card in the mail. She wasn’t just a friend – she was a special kind of family. The kind you choose. This past year has seen a lot of changes in my life and it has been so difficult to keep up with people. The last time I saw Sharon was almost a year ago. Mom and I stopped to have lunch with her on our way out to Flagstaff for my transfer audition at NAU. She kept asking me for weeks after that: “Have you heard back from NAU? I know they’ll want you. But I hope you stay here.” (Shocking – she was ecstatic when I decided to go to USC!) Because life had gotten so crazy, I hadn’t known something was wrong with her health until I didn’t receive a birthday card in the mail in October and decided to check up on her via Facebook. That’s when I saw the posts from her daughter Kelly about her struggles.
I won’t forget how she kept all of our Thunderpub works of fiction in a manila envelope so she could read them at her leisure without squinting at the computer screen.
Thumper2I certainly won’t forget her fun with Butterscotch Schnapps at Westfest *insert giggle here* and how she broke the “adult chair!”
photo 1(1)I won’t forget how incandescent she was after receiving this hug from Paul Byrom. I definitely won’t ever forget her smile and her caring heart.
Enjoy the music up there, dear Thumper.
NNGB

2 thoughts on “NNGB, Dear Thumper

  1. ululani says:

    What a great collection of memories. I am so saddened to learn of her passing. She will be dearly missed!

  2. Diana S says:

    You captured her in this blog, Sarah. Such a nice tribute.

Leave a comment