W is for… Wagner

w

Ah, Richard Wagner. I have been told that you either love him or you don’t. I have to say, I don’t. I don’t hate him. And I can’t deny the mark he has left on music, especially opera, but I am not particularly a fan.

I really did want to write more, but it’s proving difficult for me. I can’t gush on like I did about Debussy and friends or Chopin. But, I felt it would be wrong to not post something about Wagner.

So, I will be more than happy to share the one work of his that I could listen to over and over again. That work is the Prelude to Tristan und Isolde.

2 thoughts on “W is for… Wagner

  1. Servetus says:

    I didn’t care for him until I was in the orchestra for “Siegfried Idylle” (playing clarinet). Then all of a sudden I got him. I also like the “earlier” stuff better on the whole.

  2. richm612 says:

    I’m with you there. The Tristan Prelude and a couple of overtures are fine, but generally I’m not a fan. IMHO he goes on a bit too much….

Leave a comment