Five Favorites, 4th Edition (2/26-3/4/11)

1. Postcards!

Postcrossing_russia

A few months ago, I got into a little thing called Postcrossing, thanks to a friend who was also doing it. Simple explanation: you send out postcards to people who want postcards and then other people send you cool postcards. It’s been so much fun seeing the different cards from different parts of the world show up for me 🙂 So, this one arrived on Saturday from Russia – isn’t it the coolest card?!

2. Peter Hollens

You may recognize this phenomenal singer from the most recent season of “The Sing-Off”… Peter Hollens competed as part of University of Oregon’s On The Rocks group (they made it to 4th place!) and personally blew me away with his solo in their performance of Mr. Mister’s “Kyrie”. But this isn’t about OTR. It isn’t about “The Sing-Off”. This is about Peter, doing his voices only thing. Solo. Yep, you heard me, solo. He’s been recording arrangements of some popular songs voices only –  which means he does it all! Solo, supporting harmonies, beatbox – all of it. The result is amazing 🙂

3. Susie, The Little Blue Coupe!

Today, one of the fabulous people I follow (AKA @mrdaps) posed this question: What’s your FAVORITE Disney Car? He said his was Herbie. But my mind immediately went to Susie, The Little Blue Coupe. I had to go find a video!

As with any visit to YouTube, one video leads to another…

I love trips down memory lane!

4. Sesame Street

One of my Facebook friends posted two videos this week that took me back to my childhood as well – both from Sesame Street!

This second one was a favorite as a kid. We had an album with songs sung by pop music stars especially for kids. I’m told that this James Taylor song made me light up the most 🙂

5. Keith Harkin

Dsc05979_1

For three years now, I have been proud to call myself a Celtic Thunder fan. And, more specifically, a Keith Harkin fan. From the moment he started playing “Mountains of Mourne” in their first PBS special, I’ve been won over. Up until last night, my only “Keith Harkin experience” has been within the context of Celtic Thunder. And while that’s nothing to sneeze at, I have (since those early days of fandom) wanted so badly to just sit in a pub and listen to him play. Just him and guitar, doing his thing. Last night, I finally got my wish. Keith had a gig at Molly Malone’s in Los Angeles. I was happily placed on the side of the small room, about halfway back, enjoying every second. And I get to do it again tomorrow night in La Habra 🙂

He has a forever fan right here. Always.

Leave a comment